Song of my soul !

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Your Number One.”What was the #1 song when you were born? (not sure? you can find out here.) Write about how the song relates (or not!) to your personality.

First let me thank The Daily Post for this prompt, it made my day as i discovered that one of my favorite songs by one of my favorite singers from my favorite movie was a chart buster around the time i was born.

I am not sure if it was the #1 song the day i was born. The link given above supports only two countries and at first i didn’t even think of responding to the prompt with a post but just out of curiosity i googled for popular Indian songs from my birth year. I couldn’t make myself to search more to exactly get the chart busters of my birthday.

I am so delighted to discover that i was born around the time when people were listening to a song so close to my heart and it was the time when movies from my favorite genre (Comedies by Hrishikesh Mukherjee) were ruling in India and hence this post.

Now here is the song in Hindi “Aane wala pal jaane wala he … “, the song literally means all the moments pass away, if possible spend a life time in the present moment.

I love the song and mostly try to live it too and i would present it here with my interpretation –

(Original means Hindi words written in English script, translation is its meaning in English)

Original

Aane Wala Pal Jaane Wala Hai
Ho Sake To Is Mein
Zindagi Bita Do
Pal Jo Ye Jaane Wala Hai

Translation

The moment is about to go.
If possible, spend life in this present moment.
The moment is about to pass.

Interpretation

Past is gone and we do not know about future but present is what we have for sure, live it to fullest.

Original

Ik Baar Yu Mili, Masoom Si Kali
Khilte Hue Kaha
Khush Paash Main Chali
Dekha To Yaheen Hai
Dhoondha To Nahi Hai
Pal Jo Ye Jaane Wala Hai

Translation

Once I met an innocent bud.
Blossoming, it said,
it’s a state of bliss i am living in
open your eyes, it is right here.
search it and it is not there.
The moment is about to pass.

Interpretation

It is like a message to get awakened to the fact that if happiness is to be found it’s in this present moment and if you are looking it somewhere else then you will loose this moment and miss the happiness too.

Original

Ik Baar Waqt Se, Lamha Gira Kaheen
Wahaan Daastaan Milee
Lamha Kaheen Naheen
Thoda Sa Hansa Ke
Thoda Sa Rula Ke
Pal Ye Bhi Jaane Wala Hai

Translation

Once, a moment fell from time.
A story was found there.
The moment was nowhere.
Making us smile a bit,
making us cry a bit,
this moment too is going to pass away.

Interpretation

All moments become memories later which makes us happy or sad and this present moment is what we have now to make it memorable too.

This also leads me to write about my favorite movie genre and director, new posts coming out 🙂

Leave a comment